Cricket Referee Appeal: The decision made by an on-field referee requires conclusive evidence to be overturned by the third referee.
During the third day of the second test of the ongoing English tour of India in Chennai, England captain Joe Root survived a close call in the last end of the day, but the same again brought the discussion back to ” the referee’s call ”in cricket.
Playing Indian all-rounder Axar Patel on the back foot, Root missed a delivery that could have fired him in more ways than one. With a legion of Indian players around the batsman appealing in unison, the hosts were very likely to send the decision back to the third referee, which India captain Virat Kohli ultimately did after detailed discussion.
After appealing to be caught by Rishabh Pant, Ultra Edge clearly ruled out the idea of hitting Root’s bat ball before getting caught by Pant.
On his way to Pant’s gloves, the ball had clearly hit Root’s pad, forcing third referee Anil Chaudhary to check for a possible dismissal from lbw. While the bullet would clearly hit the stumps, its impact on Root’s cushion was slightly outside of the stump. As a result, Chaudhary ruled in favor of the batter, citing “the umpire’s appeal”.
It is the call of the most confident referee of all time. I don’t know how you don’t protect your bets on a call like this #IndvEng
– Andrew Miller (@miller_cricket) February 15, 2021
What is the call of the referee in cricket?
Cricket fans are not indifferent to the term “referee’s call” as it has worked both for and against their team on several occasions in the past. Introduced to sport in 2016, the term “referee call” lends more weight to a referee’s decision on the field. Thus, increasing the authority of his decision and not making him a mere spectator on the ground.
Simply put, a third referee can only change an on-court referee’s decision after obtaining conclusive evidence. In the above case, the impact of the ball hitting Root’s cushion was partially outside the stumps. Therefore, Chaudhary did not rule the batsman due to uncertainty.
If Root had been hit on the mat while still being perfectly aligned with the stumps, Chaudhary would have had conclusive evidence of the referee’s decision being overturned on the field Nitin Menon or say “the referee’s call Would not have acted as a roadblock for the Indian team.
READ ALSO: How many reviews are allowed in Test cricket?
Since the rule’s inception, it has been severely criticized and debated by cricketers, pundits and fans alike and now. The sheer irony that a batsman can be both out and not on the same delivery (especially in the LBW cases) depending on what the referee on the field is thinking is beyond the comprehension of most. people.
In Root’s case, had Menon taken him out (either taken back or lbw) onto the pitch, his decision would have stayed that way. The only difference would have been that the English team and the fans would have criticized the ‘referee’s call’ compared to the Indian team and fans.
As long as this law is not amended by the ICC (International Cricket Council), these debates will continue to take place. Having said that, you can’t really blame the third referee in such cases because it’s his job to follow the rules.
NOTE: It should be noted that teams do not lose a review when the decision goes against them by citing “the referee’s call”.